Art and Providence

Providence provides for the great artist an expression or tune from which he may foment a sense of concept; the air of an idea, though the idea itself may be otherworldly.

In the eye of providence, there exists a working beyond the comprehension of man — and one is most foolish to disregard this.

Verse 29, The Sonnets

When, in disgrace with Fortune and men’s eyes,

I all alone beweep my outcast state,

And trouble deaf heaven with my bootles cries,

And look upon myself and curse my fate,

Wishing me like to one more rich in hope,

Featured like him, like him with friends possessed,

Desiring this man’s art, and that man’s scope,

With what I most enjoy contended least;

Yet in these thoughts myself almost despising,

Haply I think on thee, and then my state,

Like to the lark at break of day arising

From sullen earth, sings hymns at heaven’s gate;

For thy sweet love rememb’red such wealth brings,

That then I scorn to change my state with kings.

This entry was posted in Experience and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

